Kyle Henderson repeats as first-team All-District honoree

Marq Mitcham -- Sterlington junior guard Kyle Henderson has gained first-team All-District 2-3A recognition for the second straight season. Henderson led the conference in scoring with 26 points per game.

Sterlington junior sharpshooter Kyle Henderson is among three repeat first-team honorees on the All-District 2-3A boys basketball team.

Henderson led the district in scoring with 26 points per game and also averaged a team-high 8 rebounds per outing in conference play. He finished with an overall average of 27 ppg.

State runner-up Wossman swept the individual awards. Junior Nick Traylor is the District MVP and Casey Jones is Coach of the Year. Traylor and Jones led the Wildcats to a 32-7 mark, including a perfect 10-0 record in league play.

Seniors Rayson Robinson of Wossman and Randy Jones of Carroll join Henderson as repeat first-team selections.

Completing the first unit are Wossman sophomore Devonte Austin, Carroll junior, Craytonia Simmons, Madison Parish junior Kedarius White, Madison Parish senior Ryan Jackson, Richwood sophomore Marquez Perkins and Union Parish senior Jalen Jones.

Point guard Kaden Key is the Panthers' lone second-team representative. An honorable mention All-District pick as a junior, Key averaged 10 points and 4 assists in district competition as a senior.

Also listed on the second team are juniors Brandon Dennis and Nick Lavender and senior Lajarrion Spinks of Wossman; sophomores Deonta Edwards and Randarius Jones of Carroll; juniors Calvin Henton and Quindarrious Buckley of Madison; sophomore Wesley Williams of Richwood; and junior Coreyuon Glosson of Union.

Sterlington junior post player Chance Carter received honorable mention accolades. Carter averaged 6 points and 4 rebounds while shooting 61 percent from the floor in conference play.

Senior Demeleas Williams and junior Jay Jones of Wossman; senior Terrell Moten and sophomore Henry Manning of Carroll; junior Deandre Palmer of Madison; sophomores Jamauri McNeal and Dejabion Mathis and junior Roderick Hill of Richwood; and sophomore Dylan Harris of Union round out the honorable mention list.


The complete All-District 2-3A boys basketball team:

MVP — Nick Traylor, Wossman.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Casey Jones, Wossman.


Nick Traylor (jr.), Wossman

Rayson Robinson (sr.), Wossman

Devonte Austin (so.), Wossman

Randy Jones (sr.), Carroll

Craytonia Simmons (jr.), Carroll

Kedarius White (jr.), Madison

Ryan Jackson (sr.), Madison

Marquez Perkins (sr.), Madison

Jalen Jones (sr.), Union

Kyle Henderson (jr.), Sterlington


Brandon Dennis (jr.), Wossman

Nick Lavender (jr.), Wossman

Lajarrion Spinks (sr.), Wossman

Deonta Edwards (so.), Carroll

Randarius Jones (so), Carroll

Calvin Henton (jr.), Madison

Quindarrious Buckley (jr.), Madison

Wesley Williams (so.), Richwood

Coreyuon Glosson (jr.), Union

Kaden Key (sr.), Sterlington


Jamauri McNeal (so.), Richwood

Dejabion Mathis (so.), Richwood

Ronderrick Hill (jr.), Richwood

Dylan Harris (so.), Union

Chance Carter (jr.), Sterlington

Terrell Moten (sr.), Carroll

Henry Manning (so.), Carroll

Deandre Palmer (jr.), Madison

Demeleas Williams (sr.), Wossman

Jay Jones (jr.), Wossman