Grinding away translates into MVP award for Cooper Reese

Cooper Reese has been named as the Division IV District II Most Valuable Player after helping Sterlington to its first-ever district championship.

Sterlington junior center defensive midfielder Cooper Reese may not be the first player the casual fan notices on the pitch. But when it came time to choose the Division IV District II soccer MVP, Reese was an easy choice.

"When we were getting ready to vote at the (All-District) meeting, the opposing coaches started telling me how anxious their guys were about going up against Cooper because they couldn't beat him," Sterlington coach Kyle Keyes said. "He's a physical guy and he's tough to get through. All-around, he's always one of the better players on the field. That's the reason he got MVP."

While Reese isn't flashy, he is effective.

"Cooper doesn't make all those cute moves. He just grinds away," Keyes said. "He always wins the ball."

Reese finished the season with seven goals and 13 assists while helping the Panthers (12-4-4) capture their first district championship in the program's brief history. However, his contributions can't be measured in stats.

"Cooper's the buffer between our offense and defense," Keyes said. "In basketball, you have the transition game. Cooper's the guy we rely on to cut off the transition game."

Senior Ben Fonville of Glenmora is the Offensive Player of the Year and St. Frederick junior Coy Gammage is the Defensive Player of the Year.

Joining Reese on the first team from Sterlington are juniors Duke Villarreal, Austin Booth and Sam Gilbert, and sophomore Cooper Grunsky.

Also named to the first unit were seniors Gavin Corder and Stephen Cagle and junior Blake McMullen of St. Frederick; senior Andres Guillen and sophomore Brandon Reyes of Glenmora; junior Jacob Hawkins of Delta Charter; and junior Johnathan Cruz of Rapides.

Fonville, Corder and Guillen are repeat first-team honorees.

Senior Connor White is the Panthers' lone second team representative.

Rounding out the second unit are senior Connor Biglane of St. Frederick; sophomore Daniel Sanchez of Glenmora; sophomore Elijah Blood and junior Sergio Harris of Rapides; seniors Carter Autin and Tanner Bush of Ouachita Christian; freshman Matthew Magnano of Grace Christian; seniors Alden Cupit and Colson Thorton of Delta Charter; and senior Tommy Ngo of Vidalia.

Sterlington's honorable mention selections include sophomore Ethan Thames and senior Blake Stevens.

Finishing out the honorable mention list are senior John Collin Witherington and junior Jadon Roy of St. Frederick; sophomore Daniel Rubio and senior Belquis Guerrero of Glenmora; sophomore Zac Clayton and junior Thomas Geoghegan of Delta Charter; junior Brendon Smith and senior Logan Marler of Rapides; sophomores Cade Allen and Andrew Beatty of OCS; seniors Taylor Brenner and Matthew Delrie of Grace Christian; and junior Bin Vam and freshman Alex Patterson of Vidalia.


The complete All-Division IV District II boys soccer team:

MVP — Cooper Reese (jr.), Sterlington.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Ben Fonville (sr.), Glenmora.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Coy Gammage (so.), St. Frederick.


Duke Villarreal (jr.), Sterlington

Cooper Grunsky (so.), Sterlington

Austin Booth (jr.), Sterlington

Sam Gilbert (jr.), Sterlington

Gavin Corer (sr.), St. Frederick

Stephen Cagle (sr.), St. Frederick

Blake McMullen (jr.), St. Frederick

Andres Guillen (sr.), Glenmora

Brandon Reyes (so.), Glenmora

Jacob Hawkins (jr.), Delta Charter

Johnathan Cruz (jr.), Rapides


Connor White (sr.), Sterlington

Connor Biglane (sr.), St. Frederick

Daniel Sanchez (so.), Glenmora

Elijah Blood (so.), Rapides

Sergio Haros (sr.), Rapides

Carter Autin (sr.), Ouachita Christian

Tanner Bush (sr.), Ouachita Christian

Matthew Magnano (fr.), Grace Christian

Alden Cupit (sr.), Delta Charter

Colson Thorton (sr.), Delta Charter

Tommy Ngo (sr.), Vidalia


Ethan Thames (so.), Sterlington

Blake Stevens (sr.), Sterlington

John Collin Witherington (sr.), St. Frederick

Jadon Roy (jr.), St. Frederick

Daniel Rubio (so.), Glenmora

Zac Clayton (so.), Delta Charter

Thomas Geoghegan (jr.), Delta Charter

Brendon Smith (jr.), Rapides

Logan Marler (sr.), Rapides

Cade Allen (so.), Ouachita Christian

Andrew Beatty (so.), Ouachita Christian

Taylor Brenner (sr.), Grace Christian

Matthew Delrie (sr.), Grace Christian

Bin Vam (jr.), Vidalia

Alex Patterson (fr.), Vidalia