Four Bulldogs named to coaches preseason All-Conference USA team

Louisiana Tech was picked to finish second in its division in the Conference USA media poll released Tuesday.

Defending C-USA champion Florida Atlantic is the prohibitive favorite in the East Division, receiving 22 of a possible 26 first-place votes. Second-place Marshall garnered the remaining four first-place votes. Rounding out the poll are Middle Tennessee, Florida International, Western Kentucky, Old Dominion and Charlotte.

North Texas, which collected 18 first-place votes, is favored in the West. Tech was picked second, followed by Alabama Birmingham, Southern Mississippi and Texas San Antonio. Rice and Texas El Paso share the No. 6 spot.

FAU claimed two of the three individual awards on the preseason All-Conference team in voting conducted by the league's 14 head coaches. Junior running back Devin Singletary is the Offensive Player of the Year while senior linebacker Azeez Al-Shaair is projected as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Southern Miss senior kicker Parker Shaunfield was picked as Special Teams Player of the Year.

Tech landed four players on the preseason All-CUSA team — two on both sides of the ball.

Guard O'Shea Dugas and wide receiver Teddy Veal, a pair of seniors, represent the Bulldogs on offense.

Dugas enters his fourth year as a starter with 32 career starts. A 2016 second-team All-Conference pick, the Lafayette Northside product was limited to 10 games due to injuries.

In his first season with the Bulldogs after transferring from Tulane, Veal was named co-CUSA Newcomer of the Year after catching 74 passes for 950 yards and seven touchdowns.

Senior end Jaylon Ferguson and sophomore cornerback Amik Robertson are the Bulldogs' defensive honorees.

Ferguson, who prepped at West Feliciana, logged 39 tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss and a team-high seven sacks.

Starting every game as a true freshman out of Thibodaux, Robertson earned freshman All-America honors. He recorded 62 tackles with a team-high five interceptions, including a pick-6 in Tech's 51-10 Frisco Bowl victory over SMU.

Tech opens the season Saturday, Sept. 1 at South Alabama. Kickoff time is 6 p.m. in Mobile.




1. FAU (22)

2. Marshall (4)

3. Middle Tennessee

4. FIU

5. WKU

6. Old Dominion

7. Charlotte


1. North Texas (18)

2. Louisiana Tech (4)

3. UAB (3)

4. Southern Miss (1)


T6. Rice


(first place votes in parentheses)


Offensive Player of the Year

Devin Singletary, Jr., RB, Florida Atlantic

Defensive Player of the Year

Azeez Al-Shaair, Sr., LB, Florida Atlantic

Special Teams Players of the Year

Parker Shaunfield, Sr., K, Southern Miss


QB — Mason Fine, Jr., North Texas

QB — Brent Stockstill, Sr., Middle Tennessee

RB — Spencer Brown, So., UAB

RB — Devin Singletary, Jr., Florida Atlantic

OL — Reggie Bain, Sr., Florida Atlantic

OL — Chandler Brewer, Sr., Middle Tennessee

OL — Jordan Budwig, Sr., FIU

OL — Levi Brown, Jr., Marshall

OL — O'Shea Dugas, Sr., Louisiana Tech

TE — Harrison Bryant, Jr., Florida Atlantic

WR — Tyre Brady, Sr., Marshall

WR — Jalen Guyton, Sr., North Texas

WR — Ty Lee, Jr., Middle Tennessee

WR — Teddy Veal, Sr., Louisiana Tech


DL — Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech

DL — Fermin Silva, Sr., FIU

DL — Kevin Strong, Jr., Sr., UTSA

DL — Oshane Ximines, Jr., Old Dominion

LB — Azeez Al-Shaair, Sr., Florida Atlantic

LB — Khalil Brooks, Jr., Middle Tennessee

LB — Chase Hancock, Sr., Marshall

LB — Josiah Tauaefa, Jr., UTSA

DB — Ben DeLuca, Jr., Charlotte

DB — Malik Grant, Jr., Marshall

DB — Shelton Lewis, Sr., Florida Atlantic

DB — Amik Robertson, So., Louisiana Tech

DB — Jalen Young, Sr., Florida Atlantic


K — Parker Shaunfield, Sr., Southern Miss

P — Jack Fox, Sr., Rice

KR — Isaiah Harper, Sr., Old Dominion

PR — Darrell Brown, Jr., Old Dominion

LS — Matt Beardall, Jr., Marshall