The Morehouse Parish School Board voted to interview four candidates for the position of superintendent at its May regular meeting.

After entering into executive session to discuss the candidates, it was decided to interview Jesse Winston Jr., Sharilyn Loche, John Gullatt and David Gray. The interviews will be held on May 9, and a special-called board meeting will then be held to announce the board’s choice. Jo Ann Bradford spoke to the board prior to entering the executive session and asked that they hire an interim superintendent until after November’s election. Bradford felt that a selection from the current board would be a representative of the old, while waiting would be a representation of the future.

Recognized for the achievement of being one of only 32 teams in the nation to advance to compete in Washington, DC in the 2017-2018 Army JROTC Academic Bowl were Senior Army Instructor Colonel Steve Jeselink and Bastrop High School JROTC members, Cadet/Major and team captain Gwyneth Edwards, Cadet/Lieutenant Colonel Sidney Jones, Cadet/Major Cedric Winston and Cadet/2nd Lieutenant Kei Yabut. The team competed against 1,389 other programs in order to be able to advance to the Academic Bowl, which will be held June 21-26.

Also recognized were the Teachers of the year for each school. Those earning this distinction were L. Murphy Sears of Henry V. Adams, Terri Jo Churchwell of Beekman Charter School (elementary), Donna Edwards of Beekman Charter School (junior high), Kristy Shmultz of Beekman Charter School (high school), Sheronny Daniels of Delta (elementary), LaQuesha Reynolds of Delta (junior high), LaDonna Sender of Bastrop High School (junior high), Hunter Harris of Bastrop High School (high school), Terry Stephens of Morehouse Magnet School (elementary), Donna Harrell of Morehouse Magnet School (junior high), Deborah Hutchinson of Morehouse Junior High School (elementary), Angela Madden of Morehouse Junior High School (junior high) and Lisa Thomas of Pine Grove Elementary. Ashley Allen Moreland was also recognized as the Bastrop-Morehouse Chamber of Commerce recipient of Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

The Employee of the Month was awarded to Stacy Hammonds, Child Welfare and Attendance Clerk, and the High Attendance awards for the month of March went to Morehouse Magnet School for both the faculty and staff as well as for students. Recognized for her exemplary efforts was Holly Hobson.

The motion to hire 20 – 24 students during the summer to help with school grounds clean-up carried after discussion in which it was stipulated the students had to be 18 years old. Motions to change the Child Welfare and Attendance Data Clerk position to the Student Information System Coordinator as well as a motion to authorize the Superintendent to advertise for the highest bidder for the Old Bonita School Property and to advertise for lease for hunting purposes property in Section 16, T23N, R4E (642 acres, all carried).