Bastrop Daily Enterprise - Bastrop, LA
  • Jay Wilson listed as second team kick returner

  • Preseason All-Southland Conference Team
    • email print
  • Raking in his second honor of the preseason, Central Arkansas sophomore Jay Wilson was named second-team All-Southland Conference on Wednesday.
    Wilson, a Bastrop High product, made the squad as a kick returner. He was also recently chosen as a third-team All-America kick returner by the Sports Network.
    A two-time Southland Conference Special Teams Player of the Week as a freshman, Wilson ranked second in the league in kickoff returns with a 30.6-yard average. For the season, he returned 19 kickoffs for 581 yards and two touchdowns, including a 93-yarder. Seeing action in all 12 games at wide receiver, including four starts, Wilson caught 41 passes for 409 yards and two touchdowns.
    Wilson and JeMarcus Marshall, a sophomore defensive end at Northwestern State who prepped at Ouachita, are the only area players on the team. Marshall was chosen as a second team defensive lineman.
    Defending conference champion Southeastern Louisiana leads the way with 15 selections, including nine first-team picks.
    Representing the Lions on the first unit are quarterback Bryan Bennett, running back Rasheed Harrell, offensive lineman Jonathan Braddock, defensive lineman Jonathan Woodard, linebackers Isiah Corbett and Drew Misita and defensive back Harlan Miller. Recognized as an all-purpose player on offense and a kick returner on defense, Southeastern junior Xavier Roberson is the only player listed on the team at two positions.
    McNeese is next with 10 selections, followed by UCA with nine, Northwestern State with eight, Sam Houston with six, Stephen F. Austin and Lamar with four and Nicholls State with two.
    Seven of the Cowboys’ honorees landed on the first team, inlcuding tight end/H-back Zach Hetrick and offensive linemen Antoine Everett and Quentin Marsh, defensive lineman Everett Ellefsen, linebacker Bo Brown, defensive back Aaron Sam and punter Jean Breaux.
    Named to the second unit from McNeese were running back Kelvin Bennett, wide receiver Ernest Celestie and defensive back Gabe Hamner.
    The conference will release its annual preseason coaches and media polls at SLC Media Day on Wednesday.
    The complete preseason All-Southland Conference team.
    QB — Bryan Bennett, Southeastern Louisiana
    RB — Rasheed Harrell, Southeastern Louisiana
    RB — Gus Johnson, Stephen F. Austin
    Page 2 of 8 - TE/HB — Zach Hetrick, McNeese State
    WR — Reggie Begelton, Lamar
    WR — Dezmin Lewis, Central Arkansas
    WR — Tyler Boyd, Stephen F. Austin
    OL — Jonathan Braddock, Southeastern Louisiana
    OL — Antoine Everett, McNeese State
    OL — Donald Jackson, Sam Houston State
    OL — Cole Caruthers, Central Arkansas
    OL — Quentin Marsh, McNeese State
    AP — Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana
    PK — Luc Swimberghe, Sam Houston State
    DL — Jacob Newman, Southeastern Louisiana
    Page 3 of 8 - DL — Jonathan Woodard, Central Arkansas
    DL — Everett Ellefsen, McNeese State
    DL — Deon Simon, Northwestern State
    LB — Isiah Corbett, Southeastern Louisiana
    LB — Drew Misita, Southeastern Louisiana
    LB — Bo Brown, McNeese State
    DB — Harlan Miller, Southeastern Louisiana
    DB Imoan Claiborne, Northwestern State
    DB Mike Wade, Sam Houston State
    DB Aaron Sam, McNeese State
    Page 4 of 8 - DB Fred Thomas, Northwestern State
    P Jean Breaux, McNeese State
    KR — Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana
    PR Kevin Johnson, Lamar
    QB Caleb Berry, Lamar
    RB Kelvin Bennett, McNeese State
    RB Keshawn Hill, Sam Houston State
    TE/HB Shane Young, Sam Houston State
    Page 5 of 8 - WR — Jeff Smiley, Southeastern Louisiana
    WR Damien Watts, Central Arkansas
    WR Ernest Celestie, McNeese State
    OL — Joe Graves, Southeastern Louisiana
    OL C.J. Simon, Central Arkansas
    OL Byron Williams, Stephen F. Austin
    OL Austin Douglas, Northwestern State
    OL Justin Brock, Lamar
    Page 6 of 8 - AP Daniel Taylor, Northwestern State
    PK Eddie Camara, Central Arkansas
    DL — A.J. Bowen – Southeastern Louisiana
    DL T.J. Randall – Central Arkansas
    DL JeMarcus Marshall – Northwestern State
    DL Gary Lorance – Sam Houston State
    LB — Justin Church – Southeastern Louisiana
    LB — Kaleb Muse – Southeastern Louisiana
    Page 7 of 8 - LB Davin Bovie – Nicholls State
    DB — Tyler Stoddard – Southeastern Louisiana
    DB Gabe Hammer – McNeese State
    DB Dillon Winfrey – Central Arkansas
    DB Adam Jones – Northwestern State
    DB Byron Cobb – Nicholls State
    P Nick Bruno – Stephen F. Austin
    KR Jatavious Wilson – Central Arkansas
    Page 8 of 8 - PR Ed Eagan – Northwestern State
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar