Morehouse Parish students will be awarded $29,392 in scholarships at a scholarship recognition ceremony presented by the Northeast Louisiana Business and Career Solution Center.

The students selected to receive scholarships are Donald Mays, Jacolby Ricks, Dewayne Mckinney, Randy Williams, Anicia Hammond, Gerald Givens, Orthavis Dukes, Paula Kuria and Tikela Perry. Scholarships awarded differ in dollar amounts and award frequency and are merit-based, academic-based and/or need-based.

"This will really help me out," Givens said. "I won't have to worry about where I'm getting gas from."

"With this money, I can further my education and better myself," Mays said. "Things are just slowly coming together for me."

The ceremony will be held at 3 p.m. Jan. 8 at the LDCC Bastrop Airport Extension.

"NLWC is extremely grateful to the Workforce Investment Board for their dedication in managing these WIA funds. Those that benefit are the students who are working so very hard to achieve their goals. The benefit is direct and immediate," Katie P McCarty, Program Director of NLWC said.

Recipients were chosen from applications submitted to the Northeast Louisiana Workforce Center. The scholarships were available to students determined to lead to an occupation directly related to the Region's targeted industrial sectors including management of companies and enterprise, construction, healthcare and social assistance and accommodation and food services. The Region 8 Scholarship Application provides that students must meet the following requirements:

Be a resident of Region 8 which consists of Caldwell, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union and West Carroll Parishes

Be unemployed or meet the WIA definition of "underemployed" and identified through Career Solutions Center Skills Development Team members as needing skill advancement

Apply for other financial assistance, including, but not limited to, the Pell grant

Not currently be in default of a federal student loan

If a male born on or after January 1, 1960, be registered for selective service

Be 18 years of age or older

Students must also be either in a two year program or in the last two years of a four year program to be eligible. Other requirements include that recipients demonstrate their ability to be successful in the training by submitting to test and/or assessments, meet the entrance test required scores for the program and in some cases take additional assessments.

Scholarship applications are available now for classes beginning between July and December 2014 and the deadline is May 30.