Ruston Daily Leader executive sports editor O.K. "Buddy Davis, football standout Walter Johnson, track and field All-American April Malveo, baseball player George Stone and softball coach Bill Galloway comprise Louisiana Tech's 2013 Hall of Fame class.

Legendary Ruston Daily Leader executive sports editor and award-winning writer O.K. “Buddy” Davis will be one of five individuals inducted into the Louisiana Tech Athletics Hall of Fame Nov. 9.
Davis will be joined by record-setting defensive end Walter Johnson, three-time All-American thrower April Malveo, World Series pitcher George Stone and National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Hall of Famer Bill Galloway.
“Louisiana Tech is proud of its rich tradition of athletics as reflected by the successes of our student-athletes and coaches, and through the commitment and support of so many others,” said University President Les Guice “I congratulate the 2013 class of Hall of Fame inductees on their selection, and I thank them for their dedication to and representation of Louisiana Tech.”
The induction ceremony will be held in the Waggonner Room of the Thomas Assembly Center on Saturday, Nov. 9 and more specific details will be released in the coming days. All Louisiana Tech fans are invited to attend. The event is being held prior to the Bulldogs home football game against Southern Mississippi, which will kickoff at 6 p.m.
“This is such an amazing and well-rounded group of individuals who have all left their own legacy on Louisiana Tech Athletics,” said Tech Athletics Director Tommy McClelland. “It should be a special weekend, and I hope all of our fans will embrace these individuals for their contributions to Tech history.”
Davis, who began writing for the Ruston Daily Leader in 1964 during his college days as a journalism major at Louisiana Tech, has written more words than any other writer about the University’s athletic programs, coaches and athletes. During Davis’ time at the Leader, he has covered all five national championship teams, hundreds of games and dozens of conference titles and postseason appearances. He also covered the national Hall of Fame inductions for Karl Malone, Terry Bradshaw, Leon Barmore, Fred Dean and Willie Roaf. The award-winning writer was named the Louisiana Sportswriter of the Year in 1995 by the National Sportswriters Association and honored with the Distinguished Service Award in sports journalism in 2009 by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.
Stone (1965-66) played two years for the Bulldog baseball team under legendary coach Berry Hinton; he was named all-Gulf States Conference in 1965 and 1966. During his college pitching days, he recorded a no-hitter against UL-Monroe (formerly NLU) in 1966 and still holds numerous single season and career pitching records. Stone currently ranks No. 2 in career earned run average (1.49). He also played basketball for two years at Tech. He was selected by the Atlanta Braves in the fifth round of the 1966 Major League Baseball Draft and spent nine seasons playing for the Braves and the New York Mets. He is one of only two Bulldog baseball players to have played in a World Series as he helped the Mets to the 1973 National League pennant. He won 60 games in his MLB career.
After leading Texas A&M to three straight top five finishes in the AIAW ranks, Galloway (1982-2002) left College Station in the early 1980s to come to Ruston and immediately built the Lady Techster softball program into a national contender. During his 21 seasons at the helm of the Louisiana Tech program, Galloway coached the Lady Techsters to 17 winning seasons, including a pair of 50-plus win seasons, eight trips to the NCAA Tournament and three trips to the Women’s College World Series. He recorded a mark of 726-362 at Tech and a 208-48 record in three seasons at Texas A&M. His 934 career wins ranks in the top 30 in the history of the Division I softball. He was inducted into the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Hall of Fame in 2001.
Johnson (1983-86) was one of the most dominating defensive players ever to suit up for the Bulldog football program as he led Tech to three winning seasons in the Football Championships Subdivision (FCS). The two-time All-American was named the 1986 Defensive Player of the Year in the state of Louisiana by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association and was also a three-time all-Southland Conference selection. He helped the Bulldogs to the 1984 NCAA I-AA national championship game as the Tech defense held point-a-minute Mississippi Valley State and the Jerry Rice-led Delta Devils to only 19 points and forced seven turnovers in the memorable first round win in Ruston. After completing his Tech career as the all-time sacks leader with 38, Johnson was selected in the second round of the 1987 NFL Draft by the Houston Oilers and spent three years in professional football.
Malveo (1995-99) is one of the most decorated female track and field athletes in the history of the Lady Techster program and the first ever inducted into the Louisiana Tech Athletics Hall of Fame. The two-time All-American earned the top honors in the shot put and discus in 1999. The three-time NCAA qualifier was a nine-time Sun Belt Conference champion in the shot put, discus and weight throw and was a 14-time All-SBC honoree. She led the Lady Techster program to its first ever team title as Tech captured the 1999 Sun Belt Conference Outdoor title, starting a decade of dominance for head coach Gary Stanley’s ladies. Malveo was also named the Sun Belt Conference Outstanding Meet Performer three times, including the 1997 Indoor, 1998 Indoor and 1998 Outdoor championships. She holds the school record in the discus with a mark of 187-10 set at the 1999 Texas Relays.
The Louisiana Tech Athletics Hall of Fame started in 1984 when the inaugural class of Joe Aillet, Terry Bradshaw, Atley Donald, Garland Gregory, Pam Kelly, Maxie Lambright and Jackie Moreland was inducted.
This five-person class will be the 14th inducted into the La. Tech Athletics Hall of Fame as this  group grows to 87 strong.