Students at Morehouse Junior High School were able to participate in one of their inalienable rights as Americans Wednesday as they used official State of Louisiana voting machines to choose new Student Council representatives and positions as well as Peer Leaders.

The Voter Outreach Specialist and Assistant Director of Voter Outreach were on hand to help the students with voting and the sixth, seventh and eighth graders were treated as if they were voting in a Louisiana election as they had to submit their names before approaching the voting booth and immediately leave the area after casting their vote.

The Voter Outreach Division presents voter machine demonstrations for schools and organizations at no charge. The Edge voting machines are used to conduct the demonstrations. Staff members deliver the machines and stay for the duration of the demonstration in order to operate them.

Selected as eighth grade Student Council Representatives were Hermon Jones, Misstaja Smith, Manasia Quinn, President, Kenyon Beasley and Chardavion Johnson. For the seventh grade, those elected were Selena Shaw, Shanica Campbell, Vice-President, Sierra Reeves, Essence Blocker and Dalton Shook and for the sixth grade, Deddrick Thomas, Kavonte Butler, Macasiana Moore, Secretary, Raniya McWilson and Mary Bailey had the most votes.

Eighth grade Peer Leaders are Ke'shabreon Broughton, Sidney Jimmerson, Ke'shabreon Broughton, Captain, Mikayla Perry and Chardavion Johnson. Seventh grade Peer Leader is Kiara Barker; sixth grade Peer Leaders Captain is Calina Barker and Peer Leaders are Mira Alston, Mary Bailey, Melinda Hamilton and Don'Travis Hillard.