Dixie Baseball Day

Connor Ouellette was recognized as the Larry Goleman Award winner for the Bastrop Dixie Youth Baseball League to highlight Satuday's Dixie Baseball Day program at Carter Park. Chosen by the league president, the award is presented annually to the player who exhibits the best sportsmanship in the entire organization.

Ouellette played for Rankin, Yeldell, Katz & Lowery of the Dixie Youth League (ages 11-12).

Accepting the Buck Bostick Award as the overall sportsmanship winner for the Rookie League (ages 7-8) was Brennan Fortenberry of the Tubbs Rangers.

Tracey Powell awards were presented to Joey Chain of the Ross Downs Law Firm for the Minor League (ages 9-10) and Chase Simmons of Johnny's Pizza for the Youth League.

Brayden Kilcrease of Seligman's received the Green DeFee Award for the Dixie Boys League (ages 13-14).

Zane Morgan of the Tubbs Rangers received the Umpire's Choice Award.

Team sportsmanship winners recognized were:

T-Ball — Harrison Howard, Cooper Lake Grocery; Jerrick Edmonds, Cost-Plus Furniture; Javion Island, Jerry Jones' District Attorney's Office; Rhett Herrington, Farm Supply Center; Puele Togagae, Lagniappe Health Care; Landyn Deville, Northeast Co-op; Noah Meadors, Republic Finance; Hunter Martin, Sonic Drive-In; Grant Gilpatrick, Spillers Oil and Aiden Eldridge, Turner Ag.

Rookie League (pitching machine) — Nathaniel Doyon, D&H Sporting Goods; Jacob McKoin, Mer Rouge Lions; Caden Dorsey, Moeller's; C.J. Brown, Tubbs Rangers and Dyland Downs, Woodmen of the World.

Minor League — Jairius Burks, Kiwanis; John Kelly, Moeller's; Alvin Winzer, Optimist and Mason Rogers, State Farm.

Dixie Youth — Phillip Noflin, Optimist and Varick Morgan, Rankin, Yeldell, Katz & Lowery.

Dixie Boys — Zeb Morgan, Huddle House.