Bastrop places three players on first-team All-District soccer unit.

Joey Toncrey, who started Bastrop High's soccer program two years ago, has been recognized as the Division II, District II boys soccer Coach of the Year.

Along with Toncrey's selection, the Rams were awarded three spots on the first team, two on the second unit and two on the honorable mention list.

District champion Neville claimed two of the three individual player awards as Joel Albritton is the Overall Most Valuable Player and Nick Buttitta is the Defensive MVP.

Spencer Perkins of district runner-up West Ouachita is the Offensive MVP.

Bastrop's first-teamers include senior center midfielder and Team Captain Tyler Bayless, senior keeper and Team Captain Cade Cantrell and junior winger Colten Putman.

Bayless scored a team-high three goals and added an assist for the Rams.

“Even though Tyler was not a 'big' scorer, it was his level of play in every third of the field that made him great,” Toncrey said. “He won most of our midfield battles and, at times, single-handedly helped keep momentum alive on our side and killed the momentum for other teams.”

Cantrell led the entire state (all three divisions) with an average of 14.36 saves per game and was second in the state with 158 saves. He finished the season with a 78 percent saves average.

“Even though we did not manage to win a game this year, if it were not for Cade’s outstanding play, all of our losses would have been double-digit losses,” Toncrey said. “He may have allowed some goals but his saves were off the charts. His leadership on the field was especially crucial to us being able to manage our gameplan. He is a great communicator and knew what every defender’s responsibility was and made sure they knew, too.”

Putman earned first-team All-District acclaim in his first season of organized soccer.

“By the end of the season you would never know that this was Colten's first year playing,” Toncrey said. “He was a solid 80-minute player that held his own against some of the top teams in the area. I'm looking for big things from him next season.”

Albritton and Buttitta are accompanied on the first team by Kurt Barkimer, William Green, Clay Barefoot, Thomas Green and Michael Green, giving the Tigers a total of seven first-team selections.

For West Ouachita, Perkins is joined on the first team by Justin Jungles, Jerryd Roberts, Connor Wilkes and Josh Jolly.

Bastrop is represented on the second team by junior winger Caleb McGurk, senior sweeper Christian Hannah and senior forward Adron Greenwood.

Receiving honorable mention recognition from Bastrop are a pair of juniors, center back Julien Parrino and fullback James Willis.