Striving to return to the College World Series after a two-year absence, LSU entertains Stony Brook in Super Regional play. Game times in the best-of-three series are 11 a.m. Friday and Saturday and, if necessary, noon on Sunday.

LSU is a perfect 5-0 in Super Regional play at Alex Box Stadium since the current format was implemented in 1999.

LSU (46-16) swept through its own regional last weekend, besting ULM 4-1 and Oregon State 7-1 and 6-5 in 10 innings.

Stony Brook (50-12) earned its first-ever Super Regional berth by knocking off Central Florida 10-6 Monday night in the finals of the Coral Gables Regional.

The Seawolves upset host Miami 10-2 in the first round of Regional play, before dropping a 9-8 decision to UCF. Battling back through the losers bracket, the Seawolves bested Missouri State 10-7 and UCF 12-5 to set up Monday's decisive matchup.

Stony Brook is led by center fielder and leadoff batter Travis Jankowski, the school's first-ever first-round draftee. Jankowski brings a .417 batting average into the Super Regional with five home runs, 46 RBIs, 35 stolen bases and 75 runs scored. He was drafted 44th overall as a supplemental first-round pick by the San Diego Padres on Monday. Jankowski became the American East's second first-round draft choice, joining Northeastern's Carlos Pena, who was selected with the 10th overall pick in 1998.

Other key players for the Seawolves include junior third baseman William Cormona (.393, 12 HRs and 70 RBIs) and senior righthander Tyler Johnson (9-1, 1.78 ERA).

Righthander Kevin Gausman (11-2, 2.72) became the Tigers 16th first-round draft pick Monday as he was taken by the Baltimore Orioles as the fourth overall pick.

Offensively, the Tigers are led by SEC Player of the Year and junior left fielder Raph Rhymes (.452, 4 HRs, 52 RBIs), junior first baseman/right fielder Mason Katz (.323-11-49), senior shortstop Austin Nola (.313-4-42) and sophomore catcher Ty Ross (.309-3-40).

Other Super Regional pairings released by the NCAA late Monday night include Oklahoma at South Carolina, Kent State and Oregon, North Carolina State at Florida, TCU at UCLA, Stanford at Florida State, St. John's at Arizona and Arkansas at Baylor.