NCAA Baseball Tournament Pairings

LSU was among 16 schools selected as Regional sites when NCAA Baseball Tournament pairings were announced Monday morning.

LSU (43-16), the No. 7 national seed, will play Sun Belt Conference Tournament champion ULM (31-28) on Friday at 7 p.m. at Alex Box Stadium.

LSU, the Southeastern Conference regular season champion, is the No. 1 seed, while the Warhawks drew the No. 4 seed. No. 3 seed Belmont is paired against No. 2 seed Oregon State on Friday at 2 p.m. in the opener of the double elimination tournament.

The Tigers went 1-2 in the SEC Tournament last week in Hoover, Ala., losing twice at the hands of eventual tournament champion Mississippi State.

ULM (31-28) secured its first NCAA Tournament bid since 2000 on Sunday afternoon with a 4-2 victory over Arkansas State in the Sun Belt Conference Tournament championship game. After finishing fifth in the Sun Belt standings, the Warhawks opened the tournament with a pair of drama-packed victories, defeating South Alabama 7-4 in 10 innings and outlasting Florida Atlantic in 13 frames. Following a 7-4 loss to Western Kentucky in a meaningless pool play game, the Warhawks knocked off No. 2 seed A-State in the finals.

Coach Jeff Schexnaider's Warhawks have won six of their last seven.

LSU holds a 38-8 edge over the Warhawks in the all-time series which dates back to 1959.

Florida (42-18) is the No. 1 national seed. First-round pairings in Gainesville have the Gators pitted against Bethune-Cookman, with No. 2 seed Georgia Tech matched against No. 3 College of Charleston.
Other first-round sites and pairings include Raleigh, N.C. (No. 1 North Carolina State vs. No. 4 Sacred Heart, No. 2. Vanderbilt vs. No. 3 North Carolina-Wilmington); Charlottesville, Va. (No. 1 Virginia vs. No. 4 Army, No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Appalachian St.); Columbia, S.C. (No. 1 South Carolina vs. No. 4 Manhattan, No. 2 Clemson vs. No. 3 Coastal Carolina); Eugene, Ore. (No. 1 Oregon vs. No. 4 Austin Peay, No. 2 Cal St.-Fullerton vs. No. 3 Indiana State); Gary, Ind. (No. 1 Purdue vs. No. 4 Valparaiso, No. 2 Kentucky vs. No. 3 Kent State); Houston, Texas (No. 1 Rice vs. No. 4 Prairie View, No. 2 Arkansas vs. No. 3 Sam Houston State); Waco, Texas (No. 1 Baylor vs. No. 4 Oral Roberts, No. 2 Dallas Baptist vs. No. 3 Texas-Arlington); Los Angeles (No. 1 UCLA vs. No. 4 Creighton, No. 2 San Diego vs. No. 3 New Mexico); College Station, Texas (No. 1 Texas A&M vs. No. 4 Dayton, No. 2 TCU vs. No. 3 Ole Miss); Coral Gables, Fla. (No. 1 Miami vs. No. 4 Stony Brook, No. 2 Central Florida vs. No. 3 Missouri State); Chapel Hill, N.C. (No. 1 North Carolina vs. No. 4 Cornell, No. 2 East Carolina vs. No. 3 St. John's); Tucson, Ariz. (No. 1 Arizona vs. No. 4 Missouri, No. 2 New Mexico State vs. No. 3 Louisville); and Palo Alto, Calif. (No. 1 Stanford vs. No. 4 Fresno State, No. 2 Pepperdine vs. No. 3 Michigan State).

Regional winners advance to Super Regional play, scheduled for June 8-11.