Bastrop Daily Enterprise - Bastrop, LA
  • Randle among 16 nominees for U.S. Army Player of the Year Award

  • Bastrop High senior Rueben Randle is one of only 16 players nationwide up for the U.S. Army Player of the Year Award.

    • email print
  • By Marie Keeler
    WHARTON, NJ – Bastrop High senior quarterback/wide receiver Rueben Randle was among 16 seniors nominated for the 2009 U.S. Army Player of the Year on Wednesday.
    The annual award is presented to the nation’s outstanding senior participating in the U.S. Army All-American Bowl.
    Six finalists for the award will be announced in San Antonio on Wednesday, Dec. 5. The U.S. Army Player of the Year will be crowned during the U.S. Army Awards Dinner on Friday, January 2, 2009, in San Antonio, where the winner will be presented with the Ken Hall Trophy, modeled after Ken “Sugar Land Express” Hall, high school football’s all-time leading rusher.
    Randle will be among 90 of the nation’s top high school seniors participating in the ninth annual U.S. Army All-American Bowl on Saturday, Jan. 3 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.
    Randle is the only player from Louisiana among the 16 nominees.
    Joining Randle as U.S. Army Player of the Year nominees are: Bryce Brown, running back, Wichita (Kansas) East High School; Randall Carroll, wide receiver, Los Angeles Cathedral; Patrick Hall, defensive back/running back, Ventura (Calif.) St. Bonaventure; Devon Kennard, defensive end, Phoenix Desert Vista; Dre Kirkpatrick, defensive back, Gadsden (Ala.); Jamarkus McFarland, defensive tackle, Lufkin (Texas); Christine Michael, running back, Beaumont (Texas) West Brook; Dontae Moss, defensive end, Jacksonville (N.C.) Northside; Aaron Murray, quarterback Tampa (Fla.) Plant; Xavier Nixon, offensive lineman, Fayetteville (N.C.) Jack Britt; Ryne Giddins, defensive lineman, Seffner (Fla.) Armwood; Morgan Moses, offensive lineman, Richmond (Va.) Meadow Brook; Sheldon Richardson, tight end/defensive lineman, St. Louis (Mo.) Gateway Institute of Technology; Donovan Tate, defensive back, Catersville (Ga.); Cierre Wood, running back, Oxnard (Calif.), Santa Clara.
    “Every U.S. Army All-American reflects the characteristics found in the Army Strong Soldier who possesses a mental, emotional and physical strength like no other,” said Colonel David Lee, Director of Strategic Communications, Marketing and Outreach for the U.S. Army Accessions Command. “These 16 have distinguished themselves even further through there on-field leadership skills. We are proud to recognize them as U.S. Army Player of the Year Award nominees.”
    Past U.S. Army Player of the Year winners include Kevin Jones (Detroit Lions), 2001; Lorenzo Booker (Miami Dolphins), 2002; Chris Leak (Florida), 2003; Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings), 2004; Ryan Perrilloux (LSU), 2005; Mitch Mustain (USC), 2006; Jimmy Clausen (Notre Dame), 2007; and Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State), 2008.
    The U.S. Army All-American Bowl is the nation’s premier high school football game, serving as the preeminent launching pad for America’s future college and NFL stars. Reggie Bush, Vince Young, Adrian Peterson and Tim Tebow all made their national debuts as U.S. Army All-Americans.
    For more information on the U.S. Army All-American Bowl and its related events visit www.usarmyallamericanbowl.com & www.goarmy.com. The U.S. Army All-American Bowl is owned by SportsLink, a New Jersey-based sports marketing and event management company. Other national sponsors of the U.S. Army All-American Bowl are Russell Athletics, San Antonio Convention and Visitors Bureau, Choice Hotels, Maxwell Football Club, BeRecruited.com, Rivals.com Schutt Sports, Deloitte, Gatorade, EAS, Athletic Republic, NCSA, and Football University.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar